Kennedy named National High School Broadcast Adviser of the Year

Brian Kennedy of Prosper High School in Prosper, Texas, was announced the National High School Broadcast Adviser of the Year today.

You can read more about Kennedy and his work on the JEA site in this post.

Three Missouri advisers were also honored this year as part of the program.

Jane Bannester of Ritenour High School in St. Louis was named a Distinguished Broadcast Adviser. You can read more about here here.

Clay Zigler or Rockwood Summit High School in Fenton, Missouri, and Jeff Kuchno of Oakville High School in Fenton, Missouri, were named Special Recognition Broadcast Advisers this year as well. You can read more about Zigler here and more about Kuchno here.

The National High School Broadcast Adviser of the Year program is designed to honor outstanding high school advisers and their exemplary work from the previous year, as well as throughout their careers. Title sponsor for the award is the Roy H. Park School of Communications at Ithaca College.

The four advisers will be recognized Nov. 18 at the JEA/NSPA National High School Journalism Convention in Dallas.

Aaron Manfull

Aaron is in his 26th year of advising student media. He is currently the Director of Student Media at Francis Howell North High School in St. Charles, Missouri. He is the Journalism Education Association Digital Media Chair and co-Director of Media Now. He is the 2023 JEA Teacher Inspiration Award Winner and is a former Dow Jones News Fund National Journalism Teacher of the Year. He is one of the authors of the textbook "Student Journalism and Media Literacy." You can find him on X and Instagram @manfull. He's a proud father. A transplanted Iowan. And an avid Hawkeye Fan.

Aaron Manfull has 865 posts and counting. See all posts by Aaron Manfull

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.