Announcing: The National High School Broadcast Adviser of the Year Award


The Journalism Education Association is excited to announce the first ever National High School Broadcast Adviser of the Year Award, sponsored by Lindenwood University. The award is designed to honor outstanding high school broadcast advisers and their exemplary work from the previous year, as well as throughout their careers.

“While all journalism teachers are part of the JEA family, there are undoubtedly unique challenges and opportunities associated with advising any specific type of media, and broadcast advisers are no exception. They deserve the same level of recognition as their newspaper and yearbook colleagues, and this award goes a long way to making sure that happens,” JEA Executive Director Kelly Furnas said.

While newspaper advisers have been honored since 1960 through the Dow Jones News Fund and yearbook advisers have been recognized by the Journalism Education Association since 1995, this is the first national recognition of this size for broadcast advisers. JEA’s Digital Media Committee, which maintains, spearheaded the initiative.

“The idea for this award had been on our radar and in the works for a few years now,” JEA Digital Media Chair Aaron Manfull said. “We are just thrilled things finally came together and couldn’t be happier to team up with Lindenwood University for make this idea become a reality.”

Applications are currently available at and Applications will be accepted through Jan. 15, 2014, with winners announced by Feb. 14, 2014. The winners will be recognized at the JEA/NSPA National High School Journalism Convention in San Diego April 10-13, 2014.

“My hope is that we not only recognize outstanding broadcast advisers, but that we encourage more advisers to add broadcast to their media programs — and that we encourage excellence. Our BAOY will serve as examples of success,” JEA President Mark Newton said.

In its inaugural year, up to two Special Recognition advisers will be named, up to two Distinguished Advisers will be named and one teacher will be named the National High School Broadcast Adviser of the Year. The Adviser of the Year will receive a plaque, a pin, $1,000 to use for the broadcast classroom or to fund student attendance to workshops/conventions, a $1,000 personal prize and travel and hotel accommodations to the National High School Journalism Convention in San Diego. The winner will also address journalism educators during a luncheon at the spring convention.

Individuals are encouraged to nominate a deserving adviser for this award. Application submissions include: a current resume, six links to student-produced broadcast work, up to three letters of support, a current head shot and answers to a series of questions. Complete information about this award and how to apply can be found at:

Lindenwod Univeristy is the title sponsor of the 2014 National High School Broadcast Adviser of the Year.

“We at Lindenwood are excited to be able to participate at this level,” said Mike Wall, dean of the School of Communications at Lindenwood University. “Partnerships like these help strengthen each of the organizations involved, but more importantly, allow us to serve our students in very meaningful ways.”

Lindenwood University, founded in 1827, is an independent liberal arts university offering more than 120 undergraduate and graduate degree programs in diverse areas of study and traditional and accelerated formats, including online. Lindenwood operates residential campuses in St. Charles, Mo., and Belleville, Ill., as well as 10 regional centers, and 25 extension sites throughout Missouri.

The Bachelor of Arts degree in journalism at Lindenwood University offers sequential levels of writing and reporting, in addition to multimedia journalism and technology integration. Students build their portfolios by gathering news and telling stories through the school’s three campus media news outlets: The Legacy student newspaper, LUTV News and KCLC-FM.

The journalism faculty at Lindenwood University includes experienced writers and reporters who bring years of professional experience into the classroom. Using state-of-the-art equipment and facilities, faculty members create meaningful connections between the practice’s theory and industry evolution.

Additional Notes:

Aaron Manfull

Aaron is in his 26th year of advising student media. He is currently the Director of Student Media at Francis Howell North High School in St. Charles, Missouri. He is the Journalism Education Association Digital Media Chair and co-Director of Media Now. He is the 2023 JEA Teacher Inspiration Award Winner and is a former Dow Jones News Fund National Journalism Teacher of the Year. He is one of the authors of the textbook "Student Journalism and Media Literacy." You can find him on X and Instagram @manfull. He's a proud father. A transplanted Iowan. And an avid Hawkeye Fan.

Aaron Manfull has 868 posts and counting. See all posts by Aaron Manfull

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.